top of page

10. Exhale! Getting rid of your mental and physical debris


“When someone tells me something irritating and I really want to comment, my tongue is ready with the annoying words that want to respond back automatically, So, instead of me saying this, and her saying that.. what's the point? It’s exhausting! It’s boring! I tell myself: Exhale Leora, exhale!”, Leora the teacher laughs. We’re in a lesson about breathing, and Leora, continues: “In yoga, breathing is connected with motion, but let’s not confuse our students with that right at the start, we would like them to come to our next lesson, right?, It takes time to understand the connection between the Asanas and breathing, therefore, with novice students, so we are going to start with exhaling, before any Asana, we will first exhale, and What is exhaling?" she continues, “It is the air that we give out. We get rid of the surpluses and tension, and with that, also from our mental and physical debris, "I highly recommend you to try it in the upcoming week - every time, when someone will annoy you", she laughs again, "you will see that it works”.

The week after was dedicated to exhale, I found out that it’s very relieving and it really does help.

When something scares you - a big exhale out with a great sound.

When there is a great distress or worry - take a regular breath and then exhale strong with a round mouth, Imagine how all the disturbing thoughts go out and new fresh air comes in, filled with more refreshing thoughts. Also, in automatic responses, to someone that irritated us and will lead nowhere other than to more distressing sentences being said in a loop - You can break them by exhaling, in situations like this I tell myself: 'I am not replying now, I am just exhaling' to avoid perpetuating the argument.

When practicing yoga, exhaling always comes with positions of flexing forward, closing and contracting your body. Physically speaking, exhaling helps release your inner organs and it has a relaxing and a cooling effect.

Exhale! Exhale out the pain, and the noises in your head.

Exhale a temporary despair and move forward.

Exhale and release the old and renew with new air and energy.

Recent Posts
    bottom of page