top of page

My on the go session during Pregnancy

This is the quick session I did throughout my last trimester, two exercises which I repeated over and over meticulously every day. I also did a part of it throughout the first part of my labor - while still not in crazy pain..and it helped me very much in advancing the labor:

1. Small sun salutation – first Samasthiti - sit for a moment and observe your body, your perspiration - inhale and exhale. During pregnancy I was sitting on my knees with the support of a block spreading my legs in order to allow room for the belly that kept swelling - please do so, it helps a lot, and then - striving to lift the knees, hands upwards exhaling into Yoga-mudra, inhaling into cat position, the back straightens and then slightly caves in a little, exhale into downward facing dog. The goal is for the back to be straight, so, to whoever requires - like me, especially in the beginning of the practice, you can bend your knees, You can be static in this position, In the first times during the session I like to stretch my legs' muscles slowly and gradually. Inhaling back into the cat, exhaling into Yoga mudra, passing your hands next to your knees and in the next inhale moving upwards, then exhale into base position - you can repeat this 6 times, enjoy breathing, enjoy the stretch, In general, during pregnancy I made sure not to bring myself throughout practice to situations beyond my capabilities, but rather only enjoy my body and feel it in its pleasant side.

2. Opening the pelvis alternately - inhale to cat position, exhale - right leg moves forward from the left side of the right hand - and moving the pelvis in circular motion 5 times clockwise and 5 times counterclockwise. The emphasis is on the rotating pelvis and not on the knees or legs - deep and gentle movements of the pelvis, do the same thing with your left leg - the foot enters from the right side of the left hand 5 times each direction.

I finished the session sitting quietly for a few minutes, again Samasthiti, just breathing and observing or in Nadi Shodhana Pranayama.

Recent Posts
    bottom of page